Category: women in stem

Caroline Hussey (1941-2017) was a microbiologi…

was a microbiologist and academic from Ireland. She was the first female Deputy
President and Registrar of University College Dublin.

She studied at University College and Trinity
College Dublin, earning a PhD in Microbiology. She became the chairwoman of the
National Council for Curriculum and Assessment in 1996, making her one of the
most influential persons in Irish education.

Ruth Patrick (1907-2013) was a scientist speci…

Ruth Patrick (1907-2013) was a scientist
specializing in freshwater ecology. Her most important research focused on
developing ways to measure the health of freshwater ecosystems.

She obtained her PhD from the University of
Virginia, and while there conducted revealing research on the geology of the
state. She was a volunteer curator of microscopy for the Academy of Natural
Science for eight years before she was paid for this work. Her research was
rewarded with numerous prizes, such as the National Medal of Science or the
Benjamin Franklin Medal for Distinguished Achievement in the Sciences.

Florence Sabin (1871-1953) was a pioneering me…

Florence Sabin (1871-1953)
was a pioneering medical scientist. She was the first woman elected to the
National Academy of Sciences, the first to hold a full professorship at Johns
Hopkins School of Medicine, and the first to head a department at the
Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

She studied medicine at Johns Hopkins and
started teaching in 1902, becoming the first female full professor by 1917. She
became the first female president of the American Association of Anatomists in
1921. Her advocacy for health reform led to the creation of the “Sabin
Health Laws” which modernised public hospitals in Colorado.

Margaret Rhea Seddon (b. 1947) is a former NAS…

Margaret Rhea Seddon (b.
1947) is a former NASA astronaut and physician. She flew as mission specialist, and
later payload commander, on three Space Shuttle flights.

She has a
Doctorate in Medicine from the University of Tennessee. Her NASA career began
in 1979, where she worked in a variety of fields, from organising medical
experiments to technical assistance. After retiring from NASA, she became the
assistant Chief Medical Officer of the Vanderbilt Medical Group.

Nancy Davis Griffeth (b. 1945) is a computer s…

Davis Griffeth
(b. 1945) is a computer scientist
and academic. She is best known for her work on the feature interaction problem
and computational biology.

She studied at Harvard and Michigan State
University, ultimately receiving her PhD from the University of Chicago. In
1995 she received the Top 100 Women in
Award. She also directed workshops where undergraduate students
were taught to use computational biology methods in order to research projects
such as atrial fibrillation and pancreatic cancer.

Janice Voss (1956-2012) was a NASA astronaut a…

Janice Voss (1956-2012) was a NASA astronaut and engineer. She
jointly held the record for most space flights by an American woman, with five
over seven years.

She flew as a
mission specialist on space shuttles Endeavour, Columbia and Discovery. She
worked for Orbital Sciences Corporation, as well as Science Director at NASA’s Kepler Space Observatory.

Nancy Rothwell (b. 1955) is the President and …

(b. 1955) is the President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of
Manchester, and has been since 2010. She holds several other positions,
including Deputy Lieutenant of Greater Manchester.

She has a Doctor of Science degree from King’s College London, and a
Royal Society Research Fellowship. She has also served as the President of the
Royal Society of Biology, and the director of a pharmaceutical company.

Ellen Hayes (1851-1930) was an astronomer and …

Ellen Hayes
(1851-1930) was an astronomer and mathematician. She held radical views
for her time, questioning religion and advocating women’s rights, which made
her a controversial character.

She became the head of the mathematics department at Wellesley College in
1888. In 1891, she was chosen as one of the first female members of the New
York Mathematical Society.

Joan W. Bennett (b. 1942) is a fungal genetici…

Joan W. Bennett
(b. 1942) is a fungal geneticist. She has been the President of the
American Society for Microbiology, as well as a professor at Tulane University
for 35 years.

She was the first tenure track woman in the Biology department of Tulane
University. She was a co-founder of the first women’s centre at Newcomb College,
and started teaching a course on the biology of women from 1975.

Eva Ahnert-Rohlfs (1912-1954) was a German ast…

(1912-1954) was a German astronomer who made significant contributions to
the study of variable stars.

She studied at the University of Gottingen,
and later became an assistant astronomer at the Sonneberg Observatory. She received
a doctorate in astrophysics in 1951.